Skip navigation and jump to content
Welcome to Ireland's Youth Information Website
Follow us
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Snapchat

Accessibility Options

High Contrast Text Size

How does the US government work?

Our American intern, Emily, breaks down the workings of the US government

Written by Emily Garber and posted in news

Share this article -

The United States government is comprised of three branches; the legislative branch, executive branch, and the judicial branch. Each branch works together to set the laws of the U.S.

The congress, senate, and House of Representatives are under the legislative branch, which makes the laws. The president, vice president, and the cabinet are under the executive branch, which carries out the laws. And the Supreme Court and other federal courts are under the judicial branch, which evaluates the laws. 

3 branches of US government

But how do they all work together to make sure things run smoothly? Or, complicate things so they don’t run smoothly? Each branch of the government has the ability to change or veto acts that another branch has put in action.

For example, the president can veto laws passed by the congress; likewise, the congress can approve or reject the president’s appointments. Furthermore, the congress has the ability to remove the president from office. And finally, the justices of the Supreme Court can overturn unconstitutional laws.

Like all governments around the world, the U.S. government is not the highest power in the country; its people are. Make your voices heard, protest for what you believe in, sign petitions, get educated, and fight for your rights. 

Share this article -

Published February 17th, 2017
Last updated February 19th, 2017
Tags politics government
Can this be improved? Contact if you have any suggestions for this article.
Jump to related articles
Was this article helpful?