Facebook Safety Factsheet
All you need to know from blocking, reporting and privacy
Your safety while online should always be your first priority. Facebook has set up various security settings on their site in order to keep you safe while using the social media platform. Keep up to date with their latest features to make sure that you and your personal information are safe online.
In this section
- How do I check or change my privacy settings?
- How can I change who can contact me?
- Who can see my status updates, photos and things on my timeline?
- How do I block someone?
- Reporting and blocking content
- How do I unfriend someone?
- Social Reporting
- Safety Tips
- How do I run a security check up?
How do I check or change my Privacy Settings?
It's important to make sure you're aware of who can see what you're doing, saying and sharing on Facebook.
From the Facebook news feed on your desktop you'll find a question mark with the circle around it beside it in the menu bar on the top right hand corner of the screen.
Here you'll find your privacy settings and you'll have the option to do a privacy check-up.
This tool helps you quickly check your privacy settings regarding personal posts, apps you use via Facebook and your profile.
You can also get a more detailed rundown at Facebook's dedicated Privacy Basics page.
How do I decide who can see my profile and contact me on Facebook?
You can control these things via your Security Settings, which are found by clicking the down arrow beside the question mark and selecting 'Settings'.
Make sure to check your settings and decide which ones are most suitable for you.
Who can see my status updates, photos and things on my timeline?
Only you and your friends can post to your timeline. When you post something you can control who sees it by using the audience selector so it can be set to either public or friends/friends of friends.
When other people post on your timeline, you can control who sees this information. Scroll up to the top of your profile, find the Activity Log button and click the three little dots beside it.
This will give you the option to head back to your Timeline Settings.
Here you're given the option to control a number of things including "who can see what others post on your timeline".
If you want to double check what your profile looks like from someone else's perspective, you can choose the 'View As' option pictured above and type in a name. It'll also allow you to see what your profile looks like to a stranger online. You can also access this feature on mobile by clicking 'view as' at the top of your profile underneath your name.
How do I block someone on Facebook?
If you want to block someone, click on the question mark, select Privacy Shortcuts from the settings and click on the tab for "How do I stop someone from bothering me?", as below.
You can also block people who send you a friend request by selecting the option to block on the drop-down menu (bottom right of cover photo) on their profile page.
If you find a comment or content abusive or offensive on Facebook you can report it by clicking on the pencil menu to the right of the post. Your reporting will be anonymous so anyone or post you report won't contain any info to suggest who you are.
How do I report a page?
If you want to report a page you can go to the page you want to report and click on the ‘...’ dropdown menu as below.
How do I report a photo?
If you want to report a photo, you can simply select 'options' on the bottom of the picture and click 'report'.
How do I unfriend someone?
If you no longer want to be friends with someone or want to block them from viewing your profile at all, you can go to that friend's page and on the bottom right hand corner of their cover photo, where it says 'Friends', click the dropdown where you will see an option to 'unfriend'.
You can add a friend again later by sending them a friend request.
How do I deactivate or get rid of my account?
If you want to take a break from Facebook and have your page disappear with you, you can 'deactivate' your account.
- Head to your Settings, click on General Account Settings and scroll to the end of the menu to the option Manage account.
- Click on Manage account and then choose option to Deactivate your account.
- Remember you can always reactivate your account when you want at a later date.
This type of reporting is for something that you might not be happy with but that doesn't break Facebook's Terms of Services. It allows you to contact the person or page that you have an issue with and ask them to take content down.
Most people will but in some cases of bullying, you might not be comfortable asking yourself so you could ask a parent, teacher or trusted friend to do it for you. You can check out Facebook's Report Links here.
Top Safety Tips:
- Only add or accept friend requests from people you actually know.
- Choose a good password and don't share it with anyone.
- If it looks like a dodgy link or spam, it probably is so don't click on it.
- Always log out of your account when using other people's computers or if you're on a shared computer.
Under 18? Remember:
Previously 13-18 year old FB users were considered 'minors' and so could only share content with friends. However, this has changed and now these posts can be viewed publicly and even shared so it may be wise to update your audience options for posts (see above).
Get to grips with Graph Search
Graph Search makes it easier to search for the information you share on Facebook. So whether that's your photos, pages you like, TV shows you watch, people will be able to search things like "friends who like Breaking Bad" or "photos of friends in Thailand".
As this feature makes it easier for people to find info you share, it might be a good idea to go back through some of this information and decide whether it's something you want to be easily searchable and to choose the audience for things you post or have posted. With graph search people can only see things that have already been shared with them, there are no changes to who can see your stuff.
If you come across someone who is suicidal or are worried about a post, check Facebook's Suicide prevention tools for advice about what to do.
If you're still worried then be sure to check out Facebook's Safety Centre for more useful tips.
Anti Bullying Centre
Facebook have recently launched a resource page that is focused on bullying and abuse. It has a list of some really useful tools and resources to help fight bullying on the platform. Click here to visit the resource.
How do I run a security check up?
Facebook have recently launched a really useful tool to allow you to check how secure your account is. The check takes you through:
- What apps and browsers you're currently logged into and allows you to sign out of them if you wish.
- To set up alerts to let you know when your account is being logged into a device/app.
- Gives you a chance to review how strong your password is.
You can start your security check up here.
The support dashboard
A really useful place on Facebook to check in on the things you've reported to see if action has been taken. Facebook feeds back to you on what action they have taken and why. It also directs you to some of the resources discussed earlier - www.facebook.com/support